Tag Archives: adventure

A dystopian – post-apocalyptic thriller you HAVE to read.

End of Days by Sam J Fires

If you love dystopian fiction, and you’ve yet to read any books by Sam J Fires, then keep reading.

Not only do Sam’s books hit the Amazon New Release title on EVERY new release. Yes, you can get one of these elusive orange tags before the book is officially out. On release day the orange tag changed to Best Seller on every one of her newly released books.

In fact, the first book of the series, which is priced at just 99c has been a bestseller since its release in April 2022. And to sweeten the deal, you can read the prologue of this fantastic adventure for free.

Let’s take a closer look at End of Days

So, let’s start at the beginning, the prequel End Of Days.

You can download the prequel for free HERE

When ordinary life transforms into a fight for survival, can a young woman keep the chaos from pulling her under?

Go-getting twenty-six-year-old investigative journalist Cassandra Drews just wants her miserable day to end. And desperate to put her breakup behind her, she agrees to one last face-to-face to return belongings to her ex. But when they’re nearly killed by an out-of-control car, she’s horrified when the nightmare of her relationship takes a backseat to an eruption of violence.
In the blink of an eye, an EMP attack wipes out the nation’s power and the world grinds to a stop. Surrounded by chaos, Cass is torn between tending to the injured or escaping her seething ex.
It doesn’t take long before panic and violence erupt on the streets of Portland. Out of options, Cass has no choice but to race home, hoping to outrun a looming ice storm. Can she make it to safety before experiencing the wrath of the bitter winter storm? Or will she find herself the victim of far more than the elements in a town thrust into bedlam?
From Sam J Fires comes the brand-new End of Days series, a post-apocalyptic EMP survival thriller featuring flawed, complex characters and adrenaline-fueled action adventure. Perfect for fans of Ryan Schow, Grace Hamilton, Kyla Stone, and Jack Hunt.

Review Quotes

“Surviving Chaos: End of Days Prequel” by Sam J. Fires
This is a short fast-moving glimpse of how quickly society can disintegrate. Under stress the thin veneer of civility disappears very quickly.
As soon as I completed it, I began “End of Days Book 1” and look forward to reading the whole series.

Picked this prequel as a free book and really enjoyed it. I became invested in the main character, and will definitely be ordering the next book in this series.


Book one

You can download #1 Amazon bestseller for just 99c. Right HERE

No lights. No power. No help.

During the coldest winter on record, an EMP attack wipes out the nation’s power and cripples the country.

As the city spirals into lawless chaos, investigative journalist, twenty-six-year-old Cassandra Drews is forced onto the dangerous streets of Portland to begin the long walk to her parents’ home in Oregon.

But hypothermia and starvation aren’t the only dangers Cass and her rescue dog, Daisy, face on their perilous trek. Danger is stalking them, waiting for the perfect moment to strike. Help comes in the form of troubled ex-marine Isaac Winters, who slips back into soldier mode with the city’s collapse.

Now, the trio must work together in a fight for survival as they race to escape the city before violence, or the bitter wintry storm can claim them. Do they have what it takes to make it out alive? Or will they be crushed by the brutality of the unforgiving cold?

Grip of Fear is book 1 in this enthralling post-apocalyptic EMP survival thriller. If you enjoy tales of ordinary folk thrown into harrowing situations, you’ll love the End of Days series!

Review Quotes

“Grip of Fear: End of Days Book 1” by Sam J. Fires
I enjoyed the author’s style of writing. The scenarios are credible, and everything just makes sense.
I have already begun Book 2 in this series. Good reading!’

‘Great reading!!! Lots of action and emotion! A great read. Can’t wait to read the follow-up books!!! Outstanding author!!! Superb!!!!!!!’

‘I was so absorbed in this book I lost track of time. I love the underdog hero and the post apocalyptic genre. It’s always great when I run across an author I haven’t read before. It’s a real treat.’

All of Sam’s books can be found on Amazon and they are all on Kindle Unlimited.
The first book is free
2nd book is only 99c.
No excuse to not read this fabulous dystopian series that is taking over the Amazon charts.

Download the books today!

Find Sam J Fires on Facebook. Come and join the tribe.

Check out all Sam’s other books

Bringing History To Life!

Elliott Mason debut novel was The Arlington Order, which takes two major events in history in the Civil War era, orders for the assassination attempt on Confederate President Jefferson Davis, and the mystery of the gold treasure that vanished without a trace. Moving on 150 years later two historians stumble on clues. (no spoilers)

His second book is an exciting thriller adventure, but you’ll have to watch this episode of Behind The Pen, where I chat with Elliot to find out more about it.

BIO

Elliot Mason grew up in Southern California. He graduated from USC in 1989 with a bachelor’s degree in history, and went on to complete his master’s degree at Azusa Pacific University.

For many years, he was a featured and contributing writer for several websites, blogs and trade magazines. In late 2019, his first suspense thriller, “The Arlington Orders”, was released to much critical acclaim. Featured on radio interviews, podcasts and television shows, Mason’s work struck a chord with the public as it touched upon many of today’s hot button topics, making him one of the most in demand new authors.

His eagerly anticipated follow-up novel, “The Legal Killer”, was released in the spring of 2021. It’s controversial subject matter has already created a buzz among fans and critics alike, and will certainly be one of the year’s most talked about suspense-thrillers. In addition, he has two more novels in the works due for release in 2022 and 2023.

Mr. Mason still resides in California and is currently active in writer’s workshops, book readings and signings and other appearances.

https://www.amazon.com/Elliot-Mason/e/B088Y81T87

https://www.elliotmasonbooks.com/

Thrilling new romance, Noémie’s Journey.

38277409_2159181274361288_7675922159356608512_n

Is proud to announce the release of her newest novel
Noémie’s Journey

Book Description:

Love is waiting around the next curve…but trouble is never far behind.

Desperate to shake memories that stalk him like feral beasts, Richard Winters points his motorcycle toward the highway and twists the throttle—destination anywhere but New York. By the time he puts his kickstand down, he’s in Summitville, North Carolina, where, with a few annoying exceptions, one being an outlaw MC, he’s left alone.
Except there’s one woman who catches his notice and resurrects the protective instinct that cost him everything once before. A woman with stunning green eyes that haunt his dreams, and facing prejudice that makes him want to rise to her defense. But that would mean doing the last thing he wants to do—lower his guard.
Noémie Bellerose has heard times are changing, but in 1968 North Carolina, she and her younger brother are second-class citizens. The new bartender in town is temptation on two wheels, but in what world could the two of them connect? Not this one.
Despite their best intentions to avoid trouble, trouble finds them both—and so does an attraction that won’t be denied. But can love bloom where it is planted, or will they be forced to resort to desperate measures…before hate cuts them down?

NJ1

 

About the Author:  IMG_0761 (1)

 

Amazon Bestselling author, Victoria Saccenti picked up pencil and paper the moment her childhood book heroes started conversing with her. Sounds a little crazy, but there’s no rhyme or reason for inspiration. Back then, she wrote one-act plays and short fairy tales for simple amusement. Today–many…many moons later–her playful stories have grown into family sagas and retro and contemporary romances with an edge. An avid people watcher, she explores in her novels the twists and turns of human interaction, the many facets of love, and all possible happy endings.

Victoria lived overseas and traveled the world for thirty years, and she brings that experience and sense of adventure to her stories. She enjoys taking her reader on a private journey from America to Europe to Southeast Asia and back around.

Central Florida is home. She splits her busy schedule between family and her active muse at Essence Publishing. But if she could convince her husband to sell their home, she would pack up her computer and move to Scotland, a land she adores.

Where to find Victoria:

www.victoriasaccentiwrites.com

www.amazon.com/Victoria-Saccenti

Facebook – VictoriaSaccentiAuthor

 

PROLOGUE

Mount Vernon, New York. April 1968

 

Dickey entered his apartment, and before he could flip the light switch, the memories—feral beasts lying in wait—pounced from every direction.

Damn it. Stop. Stop. He stabbed his fingers into his face, but the self-inflicted pain had no effect on the barrage of angry whispers circling him. Taunting him, they grew louder…intensified to a roar of screams and jeers.  

He’d done everything to break the pattern, had changed his routine, rearranged the sequence and time of his actions and nothing worked. As soon as he was alone, the scene and participants came to life, clawing at him whether he played music, listened to the radio, or watched TV. No distraction, no entertainment on earth could end the torment or silence the voices. No. They pulled him, yanked him back to the moment…the god-awful moment.

No more.

It was late, close to midnight, and still he reached for the phone—a pathetic jerk, a slave of the past. He loathed the lack of control, the outright weakness the call would reveal.

“Hey, Skip. Sorry to wake you.”

“Hmmm…yeah. Dickey?”

“Got a moment, pal?”

“Shoot. I’m awake now.”

“You once offered to buy my share of the business. Are you still interested in going solo?”

“It was a passing interest. But…why bring it up now?”

“Because I’m getting out of Dodge. I refuse to spend another hour in this state. I’m done. Finito.”

“Hold on, man. Vivian again? It’s been years.”

“I can’t shake it. I see her…them… No more.”

“What about that sweet young thing? She likes you.”

“And she was getting too clingy. I don’t do girlfriends. Mind’s made up.”

“Wait, Dickey—”

“Nah, I’m packing. I’ll head west or maybe south. Not sure. When I stop, wherever I stop, I’ll call. Hopefully, a drastic change will do the trick. And Skip, when you see that girl, please tell her I wish her the best.”

He dropped the phone on the cradle and swept through his place, tossing a few rolled items into the smallest duffel he owned. He didn’t need much. He’d tear into the road, travel light and long with a single purpose in mind: leave good old Dickey behind and forgotten. Hello world, meet Richard Winters.

In a few strides, he closed the door to his last home in New York, mounted his bike, and, with a deep rumble, sped into the night.

Ill or fair, he’d meet the wind head-on.

 

Where to find Noemie’s Journey

http://bit.ly/NJAMKI –      Amazon Kindle

http://bit.ly/BNNJEB –     Barnes & N

http://bit.ly/iBooksNJ –    iBook Apple

http://bit.ly/D2DNJEB –   D2D

http://bit.ly/SWNJEB –     Smashwords

http://bit.ly/EBKOBONJ – Kobo

WRITING 101