Reviews: BROKEN CHAINS

Dark Mafia Romance 18+

24/11/2021 ****
I’m glad I picked this up.

This is a new author for me and I don’t usually go for the dark mafia type books but I actually enjoyed this one! This book is definitely recommended for readers 18+.

I’m not going to say much about what happens as to not give anything away but talk about intense! This book has everything you could need. There is so much suspense I was on edge just waiting for what would happen next. Keep in mind it’s pretty dark and usually that’s not my thing but it’s a good read.

I enjoyed this authors writing style and the book definitely keeps you guessing. I’m glad I picked this one up


24/11/2021 ****

I read this in one sitting.

During her first mission things get a bit hairy and she learns that the Mafia wants her taken out. What do they want with her? When she finds herself and her team surrounded she needs to make a tough decision. Will she surrender or fight for her freedom?

Overall this book was a quick read that keeps you on your toes. There is a trigger warning due to violence and some of the explicit scenes so read at your own risk. I’m not a squeamish person by any means, but even I got little uncomfortable reading these scenes. With that being said though this book was a good read and can be read in one sitting.



24//11/2021 *****
Great Story


5 Stars Broken Chains by Karina Kantas Wow .What an intense yet suspenseful ride and I absolutely loved reading this Dark Mafia Romance. This story will grab ahold of you from the beginning and doesn’t let you go till the end. This author has an amazing gift and her style of writing has me wanting more. This is very dark and there are some parts that may be a trigger but if you can just hang on tight I promise its well worth it. Have you ever played the “What if game?” Well sometimes un life we do what we have to do to get by or because we are fooled into thinking things are one way when they aren’t. This is a story about Lily I’m not going to give much away other than this. She is way stronger than she thinks but is she strong enough to break the chains? I highly recommend reading this book to find out what happens next. I look forward to reading more from this Author.

23/11/2021 *****
One choice can change your entire life.

This book really highlights how one choice that seems minor at the time, can change your entire life in ways you never imagined. Liz is living a normal life that she considers to be boring and lacking in excitement. On a quest to stir up a little excitement and write a book, she stirs up far more than she bargained for. She learns some deep, dark, terrible family secrets that leave her the victim of kidnapping and horrific torture. Her path eventually leads her to Marco, who ends up being the one light in her life, that is everything she never realized she needed. This book has so much betrayal, danger, action, romance and deep soul mate love that it had me hooked from the very first page. There were so many twists that I didn’t see coming but the ending is absolutely fitting for a King and his Queen. There are some really dark scenes in this book that made my heart break for poor Liz and for Marco as well but it just made the ending all the sweeter.

23/11/2021 *****

Amazing

5/5 Stars Broken Chains by Karina Kantas This is the first book I’ve read by the author. This is for 18+ because it’s a detailed sexual violence book. Broken Chains is a great read. Liz is a wanna be author and it doesn’t end well for her. Highly recommended for Dark Romance lovers.

23/11/2021 ****

A nail-biting ride!

Broken Chains was such an intense, nail biting ride to the finish. I would definitely include some trigger warnings as this is not a book for anyone who has issues with rape, abuse in a few different forms, and death, nor would it be a good book for anyone under the age of 18. In the beginning you are introduced to a girl named “Liz” or Elizabeth. She is enthralled by the CIA, M15, the FBI, and what it takes to become an agent.
She was absolutely a strong woman or she would not have been able to endure the things she went through. I was absolutely rooting for her! Overall this was a great book! I truly enjoyed reading it, I did finish it in a day and a half lol. This is my first book by this author and I would absolutely like to read more from her

23/11/2021 *****

Dark Story

This book may cause triggers for it has extreme violence and sexual situations. I personally loved this book, the author made you feel what she felt. The way this book was wrote it was extremely hard to put down.
Liz is working her first assignment in the field when she gets abducted and put through the worst torture of her life.
Alex is in the organization she was spying on. Will he be the one that swoops in to save her or the one that is doing the torturing?
I highly recommend this book. Amazing page turner. Again this may cause some people triggers.


23/11/2021 *****
WOW!

Wow this  book is definately not for the faint hearted. It is quite a brutal read and has scenes that some readers may feel is a trigger. However if you aren’t affected then this books is an amazing read. It has everything, murder, mystery, lies and deceit, Mafia families and romance.
I don’t want to go into the story because it will give it away but it is such a good read that I couldn’t put it down and read it in one sitting.

I loved our leading lady Liz. She is such an amazing strong character and even after all the trauma and abuse she goes through she still can love and trust which is amazing to read.

23/11/2021 *****

Brilliant!

This book is a brilliant dark mafia romance. It is definitely for over 18’s and can be a trigger for some due to the graphic violence and non-consensual sex scenes. I had never previously read any of this author’s work but I do love a good dark mafia romance and was very intrigued by the blurb of this book so decided to give it a try. I’m very glad that I took the chance on this book because I really loved it.
Elizabeth (Liz) certainly has a load to deal with. It’s not every person that has 3 mafia bosses all after them, yet that’s what Liz is dealing with. This book is not for the faint hearted or anyone who is squeamish. There is a great deal of very brutal violence dealt out, most of it to Liz and she is the recipient of a great deal of non-consensual sex. If you can handle the violence, there is a fantastic storyline that goes along with it.
As well as the non-consensual sex, there are some very steamy consensual sex scenes that get the pulse racing.
I was really gripped to this story from the very beginning. The story is fast paced and takes you on an emotional journey with much danger, violence and intrigue along the way.
Definitely worth 5 stars and would recommend to those with a stronger stomach.

20/11/2021 ****
Trigger Warning but good book

If you missed my title – TRIGGER WARNING. There are multiple scenes of explicit abuse and torture in this book, and very harsh situations throughout.

If you can get beyond your discomfort of the graphic scenes described, this book has some really great character development. The opening finds you watching Elizabeth Finley as she spies on the spies, curious about their reality. Once she meets Alex, her life takes a pretty dramatic turn. Liz’s character development is strong, and the author doesn’t sway too far into helpless damsel, as many books in this genre tend to do. You delve into her mind and begin to understand her as she undergoes some graphic torture scenes. She makes for a very beautiful heroine of the book and comes upon a big surprise in the end.

19/11/2021 *****
Adrenaline fill with a walk on the dark side

Elizabeth Finely was planning and doing “research” for a book she planned to write about secret service agents. But she had no idea what trouble she was about to bring into her life. Liz faces many obstacles and is thrown into a very dangerous life. Becoming a secret agent will be way less dangerous than the life she has been kidnapped into.
I love reading the dark mafia genera of books and this author had me hooked from the first page. The descriptive language and imagery were real. I felt like I was standing right next to Liz. I look forward to reading more books from this author and truly hope that there is a sequel to this book.

19/11/2021 ****

Great Story

This was such a good book. It definitely needs a trigger warning; there are graphic and detailed scenes of violence and sex. I was kept on the edge of my seat the entire time I was reading this. Heart racing, wondering what was going to happen next. It was dark and twisty, with excellent attention to detail. The development of the characters was amazing. I enjoyed the writing style. My attention was quickly grabbed and held throughout the entire book. I really enjoyed reading this, and this author has a new fan. I can’t wait to read more.

19/11/2021 *****

Could be hard to read for some

I’d like to start out by saying this isn’t for everyone, there are some very graphic scenes that can be hard to read.
I personally loved this book. I really do enjoy it when a character who has been brought down to the bottom, has to rise up regardless of the situation and that’s exactly what Liz does. She overcomes every obstacle that’s thrown at her! This book was thrilling, the plot was so good and the twists were epic. Overall it was a fast pace, action packed adventure that I know you won’t be able to put down! I definitely give it 5 stars.

19/11/2021 *****

Amazing mob story

Broken Chains by Karina Kantas. If you know me you know I LOVE mafia books and this one was no exception. I loved every minute of it. This book is not for everyone because it is a dark romantic mafia book. Be prepared and also be ready to read all night long. It’s that good!

18/11/2021 *****

Not for everyone but so worth giving it a shot!

This book is not at all for everyone but if you are In for a very bumpy ride with a character you can’t do anything but root for this is it. From the very beginning I knew I’d like this book. I just have a thing about the main character going through heck and back and still seeing light at the end of the tunnel when all they should see is darkness. This author wrote some very difficult scenes but they were very well done. That may sound a little weird but I really liked the writing style and the fact that the impossible situation Liz deals with aren’t sugar coated. It’s a well written book and if I could give more than five stars I’d happily do it but I’ll settle for huge five stars. Highly recommended!

17/11/2021****

A Dark And Solid Plot

I read other books of Karina Kantas and I expected Broken Chains to be good as well. When I read this book, I was blown away by the intensity of the storyline. It was dark, gripping, emotional and awe-inspiring. When I first got introduced to the character of Liz Finley, I assumed her to be any other normal character who is smart and whose story will progress gradually. I was completely taken aback by the character growth and the survival skills shown by Elizabeth. My only complaint is at certain parts I felt the content meandering a bit and unnecessarily stretched out which made me skip a few sentences. Overall, it is a commendable read.

17/11/2021 ****

Not a Book For The Faint Of heart

Broken Chains has just become one of my top favorite dark romance books.
This author does a great job making the story come to life. This mafia romance is not for anyone who is not used to Smutty violent books.
Liz Finley is such a relatable character that the author did amazing on. Usually I cring half way through a mafia story like this one but Karina Kantas does a great job not making the main character too whiny or conceited like you see most female characters in this type of genre.

16/11/2021 ****

Wow. I don’t think I have a read a story quite like this one for a while.

Not for the faint of heart, that’s for sure. With very descriptive events, violence, explicit sex scenes, you are getting a whole lot thrown at you all at once. What it didn’t lack was dramatics. With some sizzling escapades and constant energy, this is a story you cannot put down. Well written, attention grabbing goodness. The story was a fair paced one, and it was pretty unique. The context was original and something I have not read a lot of. Not quite the way this one is written anyway. I loved the different writing style and loved what the story represented. It was extremely dramatic and a really great read. I managed to get lost in it and that isn’t something I can do just for the sake of finishing a story. It has to be a good one.

16/11/2021 *****

A Dark and Gripping Story

This book is absolutely not for the faint hearted. This is a dark and intense story that at times is honestly a little hard to read. But the darkness and depravity actually just makes it so much better.
This book really sinks its claws in deep and refuses to let go  even after the last page. I found myself thinking about this book long after I had finished reading it. The book is full of triggers so if this is something that is a factor then I would definitely think hard before picking up this book. If you do, however, it is completely worth it!

15/11/2021 ****

A Dark Thrilling Read

This was an interesting and thrilling 4 star read. This was my first book from this author and I wasn’t sure what to expect. It did take me just a little bit to get pulled into the story. But once I got further in I couldn’t put it down. Liz was watching and writing things she shouldn’t have been about MI5. When she finds herself talking to Alex there is something about him that is intriguing to her. She decides to change her career and go to school. She is doing very well and when she is close to graduating, is approached by Alex again and offered a job. There is a cringe worthy moment when she goes on her first job, there is a twist and she is put through some severe torture. There is another twist when she gets a coded email, how does this person know who she works for? Things get more intense as the story moves forward. I will warn that if you have triggers then this would not be the book for you. There are several moments that I found myself cringing. We get violence, torture, mystery and so much more in this read. All of the characters added a great element to the story. This was an intense thrilling read and I look forward to reading more from this author.

15/11/2021 *****

This book was absolutely phenomenal!

While it had a rollercoaster ride of emotions it was truly exceptional! Karina Kantas is amazing and her hard work shows in this book! While it may not be for everyone it really was so well written and the plot kept me on the edge of my seat. I was completely engulfed by this book and read it from cover to cover. If you like dark romances and don’t mind some more controversial stuff in print this book is one you DO NOT want to miss! 

14/11/2021 *****

Lots Of Action! Intense!

Wow! This is a pretty intense story! Definitely not for the under 18 reader. I came into it thinking it would be a spy thriller. It was so much more. Liz was a singer who should have stuck with that job. She met a man who offered her a job as a spy and it went downhill from there. Nothing was as it seems. I can’t really tell you a whole lot more or it will spoil it. The plot is so well-written. The action starts in the prologue and just hooks you in. You are then taken for a wild ride with Liz. The characters are all so profound and deceptive yet deep. The ones that truly care about Liz, you’ll find yourself feeling suspicious about. Lack of trust feels like a main theme here. But this book definitely gets your heart thumping. I’m going to definitely recommend it to those who like strong action. Liz survives some very hard things. I would give it 10 stars if I could.

14/11/2021 *****

Not for the faint-hearted

This isn’t normally the type of book that I would go for as I do not like erotica fiction, HOWEVER I decided to give this a go as I have read a lot of Karina Kantas’s previous works and all enjoyed her previous titles. So I fully admit that when it came to the erotica scenes I did skip them but the storyline itself I fully enjoyed and actually read the book in one go, whilst the story can seem utterly unbelievable this is the mafia we are talking about who have their own rules and loyalties so the sequences of events could actually happen. I think that Karina has managed to really pull the storylines together keeping the reader interested in ‘why did that happen’ and ‘what happens next and has even left an opening for a sequel !!!!! If I can fault the book at all I would have liked it to be longer as I got very immersed in the story and was quite annoyed (in a good way) when I realised it was the end. The cover of the book is very eye-catching and makes you want to read the blurb to see what the book is about.

14/11/2012 ****

This was an interesting and thrilling 4 star read

This was my first book from this author and I wasn’t sure what to expect. It did take me just a little bit to get pulled into the story. But once I got further in I couldn’t put it down. Liz was watching and writing things she shouldn’t have been about MI5. When she finds herself talking to Alex there is something about him that is intriguing to her. She decides to change her career and go to school. She is doing very well and when she is close to graduating, is approached by Alex again and offered a job. There is a cringe worthy moment when she goes on her first job, there is a twist and she is put through some severe torture. There is another twist when she gets a coded email, how does this person know who she works for? Things get more intense as the story moves forward. I will warn that if you have triggers then this would not be the book for you. There are several moments that I found myself cringing. We get violence, torture, mystery and so much more in this read. All of the characters added a great element to the story. This was an intense thrilling read and I look forward to reading more from this author.

14/11/2021 ****

A hot burner of a thriller I found hard to put down.

In the opening pages of Broken Chains,  we meet a young lady named Elizabeth Finley who is spying on MI5 headquarters. She’s a civilian wondering just how realistic the TV series Spooks  is, the show renamed MI5 in the states.  In short order, we meet an actual MI5 agent named Alex. He has been observing Liz before he recruits her into becoming a real operative for the spy organization.

Soon Liz is in the field on her first assignment-or so she thinks before she’s abducted and endures a frightening and painful interrogation. At first, she thinks she’s in the hands of some unknown enemy until she learns she’s being tested by MI5 itself. And all these whirls by in just the first chapter. At the same time as all this is going on, we all get to wonder-is Alex is more than a mentor to Liz? Will they or won’t they?

After that setup, few readers can anticipate what is coming in Kantas’s gritty and often hardcore tale of betrayal, brutal life inside three Mafia families, not to mention a very unexpected romance as Liz endures every physical torture imaginable. At the same time, she is forced to explore a very dark family heritage she knew nothing about.

            I must admit, during the first chapters I thought I was reading a ‘60s-style spy novel featuring a spunky lady who becomes a master spy like an Alfred Hitchcock character.  Then as every page in this fast-paced tale gets harsher and harsher,  it became more and more evident Broken Chains is not for the faint-hearted or squeamish.  That is until the tone of the book changes again and we move into the few warm, positive later chapters. Temporarily. Liz has much to endure, over and over again.

My favorite part of it all is Kantas’s character development, primarily of Liz but also all the men who become part of her orbit as they all do their best to force her to bow to their respective wills.  Liz is far more than a damsel in distress as we come to respect her, admire her,  understand her, and get to explore the depths of who she is as a resilient, thoughtful, and caring human being. Through it all, I keep wondering just how effective MI5 can be as there’s no evidence they are doing anything on behalf of their young fledgling.  For her part, as Liz is abducted over and over, her MI5 connections don’t seem to matter to her-those short months don’t remain an important memory in her life.

           Again, this tale includes a lot of explicit material, both sexually and violently, especially the lengthy torture scenes. If that sort of material doesn’t turn you off, Broken Chains is a hot burner of a thriller that I found hard to put down.

13/11/2021 *****

Sign her life away to the devil himself

It is a dark, dark, dark tale but sooooooo good. It is full of graphic scenes of sex and violence so don’t read if it may cause triggers. This is a riveting and compelling tale is the third book in the series by this author. OMG, this series started out with a bang and each book has continued to be the same way. This story is a dark mafia romance suspense and there is everything you could think of to make this tale an outstanding read. With danger and violence, secrets and lies, intrigue and darkness, angst and fear, intrigue, and sizzling chemistry it pops off the page and keeps your heart pumping and you don’t know whether to sit or stand as you enter the darkness to seek out the enemies.
He is waiting for his time to come to claim what’s his and the woman he loves. She has become a part of the darkness when she was betrayed. Not even their enemies will see them coming.
It was be killed or sign her life away to the Devil himself.

13/11/2021 *****

*****Trigger Warning*****

This is a very dramatic read it is so detailed that it became a little hard to finish but I did and it was amazing.
This book is an adventure from the very beginning.
Always dependable when it starts in a coffee shop.
Steamy is an understatement and there is violence.
We have a female lead and she goes through the battle of life and love.
Will she ever be safe or happy that’s the question.
Im not giving it away but it is ACTION packed.
Each chapter introduces a new point of view or situation and we go deeper into the web of lies secrets and violence.
This book is five stars it was hard to read because of the content but if you can handle sex and violence you will love this beauty.
This is my first time reading this author and they are good.

12/11/2021 ****

Great Story

I enjoyed this dark mafia romance story that I enjoyed from beginning to end. This is a new author for me which I enjoyed her writing style as well as her attention to details. I enjoyed being pulled into the story by the characters who kept the story engaging and entertaining to read. The growth of the plot and characters made the story hard to put down. This is a story about Lily and finding herself and the strength to accept who she is but the question still remains is she strong enough to break the chains? I enjoyed what she brought to the story and the suspense part of it. She is a strong character that has quickly become my favorite. I highly recommend reading this book to find out what happens next to the most wanted woman in the world.

12/11/2021 *****

Not For the Faint-Hearted

This isn’t normally the type of book that I would go for as I do not like erotica fiction, HOWEVER I decided to give this a go as I have read a lot of Karina Kantas’s previous works and all enjoyed her previous titles. So I fully admit that when it came to the erotica scenes I did skip them but the storyline itself I fully enjoyed and actually read the book in one go, whilst the story can seem utterly unbelievable this is the mafia we are talking about who have their own rules and loyalties so the sequences of events could actually happen. I think that Karina has managed to really pull the storylines together keeping the reader interested in ‘why did that happen’ and ‘what happens next’ and has even left an opening for a sequel !!!!! If I can fault the book at all I would have liked it to be longer as I got very immersed in the story and was quite annoyed (in a good way) when I realised it was the end. The cover of the book is very eye catching and makes you want to read the blurb to see what the book is about.

12/11/2021 *****

Wow Just Wow

Wow just wow! This book literally had me hooked, this book was a intense read, but needless to say I enjoyed the heck out of it. It has its moments of twists and some what dark, but it was compelling naturally in its town way. Overall, it was a powerful story, and it was one that deeply impacted me! Well done!

I picked this book, knowing what it was about based upon the story and the summary. I was not expecting (or maybe I should have) the emotional feelings this book brought to light. It was more than i thought it would be, but deeply added to the story. I read on and realized why the author had set up things that way. Needless to say I was very impressed for this book and the story, yes as I have said was dark at times but yet it was as powerful as a lightening bolt, and a story that will stay with you, for a long time!

For me Liz, was an amazing character. Someone who literally has gone though Hell and and back over and over again, and just wants her ticket the heck out of there With the way her life style is, could that ever be a possibility for her. She goes through a lot in this novel, she has hopes and dreams like I believe any of us do, but can she actually achieve what she wants and feel the emotion of what is known as freedom? She was intense and powerful with her mind, and she was very resilient. I loved that. I enjoyed her story, and what she did and had to undergo to get to the end finale. This was a intense book, but also was so freaking good and addictive. I could not put it down! Seriously a gripping must read for sure!

*****FOR SOME READERS THRE IS SOME MOMENTS OF THIS NOVEL WHERE THERE IS INTENSE ABUSE. THERE IS SOME MOMENTS THAT AS MUCH AS THEY ADDED TO THE STORY SOME VIEWERS MIGHT FACE WELL TIGGERS OR BE UNCOMFORTABLE. SO SENDING MY HEADS UP AS A READER!******

This book was a great freaking read for me. i love a book that can keep me so addicted as well as filled with such intense emotion I can not even consider to put this one down. there are some of the moments that I do label as intense that some readers may not like, but for me they made the story what it was. Gripping, Intriguing, and real. Very REAL! I loved it and I will for sure be reading more from this author, that is a simple question with he answer of YES! I highly recommend this book, if your someone like me who loves a book with twists, and suspense moments full of emotion, you will enjoy it as much as me!

Author Karina Kantas shares her latest news, books, reviews, awards and blogs as well.

%d bloggers like this: